IIT Roorkee Notable Alumni: The Power of Alumni Achievements

The Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IIT Roorkee) has a longstanding legacy of producing exceptional individuals who have made significant contributions to various fields. In this article, we delve into the remarkable journeys and achievements of some of IIT Roorkee’s most notable alumni who have left an indelible mark on society and the world.

NameNaveen K. Jain
Date of BirthSeptember 6, 1959
Place of BirthUttar Pradesh, India
Schooling (up to 12th)NA
UGBE – IIT Roorkee
Role/CompanyCo-founder and Executive Chairman of Moon Express
CEO of Viome
Founder and Former CEO of Infospace
Achievements/AwardsErnst and Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year 
Red Herring Lifetime Achievement Award
Albert Einstein Technology Medal
NameDinesh C. Paliwal
Date of BirthDecember 17, 1957
Place of BirthAgra, India
Schooling (up to 12th)NA
UGChemical Engineering – IIT Roorkee
PGMS in Applied Science and Engineering
MBA in Finance – Miami University
Role/CompanyExecutive Chairman of Marelli
Member of the boards of Nestlé
Former President and CEO of Harman International
Achievements/AwardsMetro New York Entrepreneur of the Year 2010 – Ernst & Young  
Indian American Achiever Award – Global Organization of People of Indian Origin 
Pinnacle Award 2012 – Asian American Business Development Centre 
NameGuru Das Agrawal
Date of BirthJuly 20, 1932
Place of BirthUttar Pradesh, India
Schooling (up to 12th)NA
UGBanaras Hindu University
IIT Roorkee
PGUniversity of California at Berkeley
Role/CompanyEnvironmentalist, Engineer, Religious Leader, Monk, and Professor
Achievements/AwardsFirst Member-Secretary (CPCB)
Former Head of the Department (IIT)
NameJaiprakash Gaur
Date of Birth1930
Place of BirthBulandshahr, Uttar Pradesh, India
Schooling (up to 12th)LDAV Inter College, Anupshahar
UGCivil Engineering – IIT Roorkee
Role/CompanyChairman of Jaypee Group
Achievements/Awards2005 “Distinguished Alumni Award” by Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee. 
2005 “Udyog Ratna” award by the Progress Harmony Development (PHD) Chamber of Commerce & Industry. 
2008 “Entrepreneur of Year Award”, by Ernst & Young. 
2010 “Lifetime Achievement Award” by Merchants’ Chamber of Uttar Pradesh, Kanpur. 
In 2012 he was ranked by Forbes magazine as the 70th-richest person in India
NameHarsh Kumar Gupta
Date of BirthJune 28, 1942
Place of BirthIndia
Schooling (up to 12th)St.George’s College, Mussoorie
UGBSc Hons – Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad
PGMSc in Applied Geophysics – Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad
PhD – IIT Roorkee 
Seismology at the International Institute of Seismology and Earthquake Engineering, Tokyo, on a two-year UNESCO fellowship
Role/CompanyGeophysicist, Seismologist
Achievements/AwardsPadma Shri Shanti Swarup
Bhatnagar Prize
100 Years of International Geophysics Memorial Medal
National Mineral Award
Professor K. Naha Memorial Award
Nayudamma Memorial Gold Medal Award
Waldo E. Smith Award
NamePradip Baijal
Date of BirthNA
Place of BirthNoida, India
Schooling (up to 12th)NA
UGBE (Honors) Mechanical Engineering – IIT Roorkee
PGOne-year visiting fellowship at the University of Oxford
Role/CompanyIndian Administrative Service (IAS) who retired as the Chief of the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI).
NameShashank Kumar
Date of BirthNA
Place of BirthNA
Schooling (up to 12th)St. Xavier’s High School, Patna 
UGComputer science – IIT Roorkee
PGUniversity of Minnesota 
Role/CompanyFounder and Managing Director – Razorpay 
Achievements/AwardsStartup of the Year (2022) – Issues by Economic Times
NameVinita Gupta
Date of Birth1950
Place of BirthDelhi, India
Schooling (up to 12th)NA
UGBE (Hons.) in Electronics and Communications Engineering – IIT Roorkee
PGM.S. in Electrical Engineering – University of California 
Role/CompanyFounder and chairman of Digital Link Corporation (now Quick Eagle Networks)
Achievements/AwardsThe first Woman of Indian origin to take her company public in the US.
NameAnand Swarup Arya
Date of BirthJune 13, 1931
Place of BirthAmbehta, Saharanpur District, Uttar Pradesh, India
Schooling (up to 12th)NA
UGUniversity of Roorkee
PGUniversity of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
Role/CompanyStructural Engineer
Achievements/AwardsPadma Shri
Khosla National Award
ISET Jai Krishna Award
IE (I) National Design Award
United Nations Sasakawa Disaster Prevention Award
Disaster Mitigation Award
NameAjit Gupta
Date of BirthSeptember 12, 1961
Place of BirthAllahabad, Uttar Pradesh, India.
Schooling (up to 12th)Boys’ High School & College (Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh)
UG (if Applicable)Electrical Engineering – IIT Roorkee
PG (if Applicable)NA
Role/CompanyFounder and CEO of Aryaka, AAyuja, JantaKhoj, and Speedera Networks
Achievements/AwardsThe Big Idea Award
Golden Bridge Awards for leadership and innovation in October 2012 for launching Aryaka’s WAN Optimization as-a-Service offering.
A notable founding board member of the IIT-Roorkee Heritage Fund.

The future holds great promise, and IIT Roorkee is certain to continue producing exceptional individuals who will leave a lasting impact on the world. These notable alumni are a testament to the institute’s unwavering commitment to nurturing talent and shaping the leaders of tomorrow. We honor these distinguished alumni’s achievements and eagerly anticipate future generations’ remarkable journeys.