Fulfilling Potential: Profiles of Distinguished Alumni from IIT Kanpur

The Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IIT Kanpur) has a storied history of producing exceptional individuals who have made significant contributions to society and the world. In this article, we delve into the remarkable journeys and achievements of some of IIT Kanpur’s most notable alumni across various fields.

NameNagavara Ramarao Narayana Murthy
Date of BirthAugust 20, 1946
Place of BirthShidlaghatta, Karnataka
UGElectrical Engineering – National Institute of Engineering 
PGMasters – IIT Kanpur
RoleChairman Emeritus of Infosys
One of the 7 co-founders of Infosys
Served as chairman, CEO, President, and Chief Mentor
Achievements/AwardsPadma Vibhushan – 2008
Legion of Honour – 2008
Honorary Commander of the Order of the British Empire – 2007
Padma Shri – 2000
NameAnil K. Rajvanshi 
Date of Birth1981
Place of BirthLucknow, India
SchoolingSt. Francis’ College, Lucknow 
UGBachelors Degree – IIT Kanpur
PGMasters – IIT Kanpur
Doctorate in Mechanical Engineering – University of Florida
RoleDirector of the Nimbkar Agricultural Research Institute (NARI)
Achievements/AwardsJamnalal Bajaj Award – 2001
Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) Award – 2002 
Energy Globe Award in the AIR category in 2004
Globe Award for Sustainability Research – 2009
Padma Shri – 2022
NameRajeev Motwani
Date of BirthMarch 24, 1962
Place of BirthJammu, J&K, India
SchoolingSt Columba’s School, New Delhi
UGB.Tech. in Computer Science – IIT Kanpur
PGPh.D. in Computer Science – University of California, Berkeley
RoleIndian American professor of Computer Science at Stanford University
Achievements/AwardsGodel Prize
Okawa Foundation Research Award
National Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation
IBM Faculty Award
NameShiraz Naval Minwalla
Date of BirthJanuary 2, 1972
Place of BirthMumbai, Maharashtra, India
SchoolingCampion School, Mumbai
UGDegree – IIT Kanpur
PGPh. D. –  Princeton University 
RoleTheoretical physicist and String Theorist
Achievements/AwardsAwarded the Swarnajayanti Fellowship 2005-06
ICTP Prize in 2010 
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology, the highest science award in India, in the physical sciences category in 2011
NameManindra Agrawal
Date of BirthMay 20, 1966
Place of BirthAllahabad, Uttar Pradesh
UGB.Tech. – IIT Kanpur
PGPh. D. –  IIT Kanpur
RoleIndian Computer Scientist and Professor at the Department of Computer Science and Engineering – IIT Kanpur
Achievements/AwardsClay Research Award – 2002
Gödel Prize – 2006
Fulkerson Prize – 2006
Padma Shri – 2013
NameHarish Chandra Verma
Date of BirthApril 3, 1952
Place of BirthRaxaul, Bihar, India
UGB.Sc. degree – Patna Science College
PGM.Sc. and Ph.D. – IIT Kanpur
RoleIndian experimental Physicist, Author, and Emeritus Professor of the IIT – Kanpur
Achievements/AwardsMaulana Abul Kalam Azad Siksha Puruskar (2017)
Padma Shri (2021)
NameAshoke Sen
Date of BirthJuly 15, 1956
Place of BirthKolkata, West Bengal, India
SchoolingSailendra Sircar Vidyalaya – Kolkata
UGBachelor of Science degree – Presidency College
PGMasters – IIT Kanpur
Doctoral work in Physics – Stony Brook University.
RoleIndian theoretical physicist and professor at ICTS Banglore.
Achievements/AwardsDirac Medal in 2014
Doctor of Letters, 2013, awarded by Jadavpur University
M.P. Birla Memorial Award in 2013
NameNitin Saxena
Date of BirthMay 3, 1981
Place of BirthAllahabad, India
SchoolingBoys’ High School And College, Allahabad
UGB.Tech in CSE – IIT Kanpur
PGPh.D. in CSE – IIT Kanpur
RoleIndian Scientist in Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science
Achievements/AwardsShanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize – 2018
NameAshwini Vaishnaw
Date of BirthJuly 18, 1970
Place of BirthJeewand Kallan Village, Pali district, Rajasthan
SchoolingSt. Anthony’s Convent School, Jodhpur
Mahesh School, Jodhpur
UGECE – MBM Engineering College (JNVU) Jodhpur
PGM.Tech – IIT Kanpur
MBA – Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
Role39th Minister of Railways
Indian politician and former IAS officer
Former Managing Director, GE Transportation
Former Vice President, Siemens
Achievements/AwardsDistinguished Alumnus Awards 2021
NameDuvvuri Subbarao
Date of BirthAugust 11, 1949
Place of BirthEluru, West Godavari district – Andhra Pradesh
Schooling (up to 12th)Sainik School, Korukonda, Andhra Pradesh 
UG (if Applicable)BSc Hons in Physics – IIT Kharagpur
PG (if Applicable)MSc – IIT Kanpur
Master’s degree in economics at Ohio State University, United States
Ph.D. – Andhra University
Role22nd Governor of Reserve Bank Of India, Civil Servant, Economist
Achievements/AwardsRecipient of Distinguished Alumnus Award, 2009 by IIT Kanpur.

The future holds great promise, and IIT Kanpur is sure to continue producing exceptional individuals who will leave a lasting mark on the world. These profiles represent a testament to the institute’s unwavering commitment to nurturing talent and shaping the leaders of tomorrow. We honor the achievements of these distinguished alumni and eagerly anticipate the remarkable journeys of future generations.

These profiles serve as a reminder that the spirit of IIT Kanpur lives on in the achievements of its alumni, and they continue to inspire and uplift the global community.